Islamabad Police Jobs 2026 cover 1,624 vacant posts of Sub Inspector (BS-14), Assistant Sub Inspector or ASI (BS-11), and Constable (BS-07) in the Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) Police, advertised under the Ministry of Interior & Narcotics Control. Pakistani men and women aged 18 to 25, holding a domicile from any province or region, can apply according to the quota fixed for their category. Online applications close on September 2, 2026. This guide explains what the notification actually asks for, who should genuinely apply, and how to submit your form without losing your Rs. 2,000 fee to a simple mistake.
Application Status: Open. As of August 14, 2026, Islamabad Police Jobs 2026 applications are open, with 19 days left before the closing date of September 2, 2026. Posts on offer: Sub Inspector (BS-14), ASI (BS-11), Constable (BS-07). Total vacancies advertised: 1,624. Apply only online at npftas.pk — no other channel is accepted.
About Islamabad Capital Territory Police
Islamabad Capital Territory Police is responsible for law and order in Pakistan’s federal capital. It works under the federal Ministry of Interior & Narcotics Control — the same ministry sponsoring this recruitment — rather than a provincial home department, so its hiring cycle and pay rules differ somewhat from Punjab Police or Sindh Police.
The force covers a city with foreign missions and federal secretariats, which shapes its day-to-day duties. Recruits usually start at Constable or ASI level and build seniority over a career. If this drive does not fit your qualification or timeline, it’s worth comparing other ongoing police recruitment across Pakistan before committing a fee anywhere.
Vacant Positions and Pay Scales
The notification lists three posts, all graded on Basic Pay Scale (BPS), Pakistan’s standard government salary structure. The combined vacancy count is 1,624; the official notification does not break this down by post.
| Post | Basic Pay Scale | Minimum Education Stated |
|---|---|---|
| Sub Inspector | BS-14 | BA/BSc or equivalent, recognized university |
| ASI (Assistant Sub Inspector) | BS-11 | BA/BSc or equivalent, recognized university |
| Constable | BS-07 | Matric or equivalent, recognized board |
A report by ProPakistani splits the 1,624 vacancies into roughly 60 Sub Inspector, 24 ASI and 1,540 Constable posts. That isn’t part of the official notification — treat it as indicative and confirm on npftas.pk.
Eligibility Criteria
Run through this before you pay the application fee:
- Age: 18 to 25 years. No relaxation is mentioned, so confirm on the official advertisement if you’re close to either limit.
- Gender: Both male and female candidates can apply.
- Education: BA/BSc for Sub Inspector and ASI; Matric for Constable. Applying above your qualification gets you rejected; applying below it wastes a degree you already hold.
- Domicile: Punjab, ICT, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Azad Jammu & Kashmir, and Gilgit-Baltistan/FATA are all named, against the regional quota the federal government sets.
- Nationality: Pakistani nationals only.
Marital status, disability quota and minority-quota specifics beyond the interview-stage affidavit are not specified in the official notification — confirm with the recruitment desk on npftas.pk rather than guessing.
Physical Standards Explained
All three posts share the same physical bar:
- Height: 5 ft 7 in for men (about 170 cm); 5 ft 2 in for women (about 157 cm).
- Chest (men only): 33 inches normal, expanding to 34½ inches.
- Endurance test: a 1-mile run (about 1.6 km) in 7 minutes for men, 10 minutes for women.
If you’ve never run a timed mile, start training before the test date, not after the written stage — the gap between written and physical/interview stages is often short.
Who Should — and Should Not — Apply
This drive suits you if you already meet the height, chest and endurance numbers, hold exactly the qualification your target post asks for, and can appear on short notice once the roll number slip arrives.
Think twice if you’re well below the height or endurance standard with little time to train, or applying for Constable purely assuming it’s easier — the fee is identical and the standards don’t soften at a lower post. Minority-quota applicants should arrange their DCO-countersigned affidavit in advance; there’s no time to sort it out after the interview call.
Documents You Need
The notification lists documents required at the interview stage, after the written test. Keep these ready in original form well before then:
- Academic certificates matching the post’s stated qualification
- CNIC issued by NADRA
- Domicile certificate
- Two passport-size photographs with a blue background
- Affidavit countersigned by the Deputy Commissioner’s Office (DCO), only for the minority quota
Attestation and copy count aren’t specified. Treat every document as if it might need an attested copy, and confirm with test-centre staff or on npftas.pk beforehand.
How to Apply for Islamabad Police Jobs 2026 Online: Step by Step
- Visit npftas.pk before September 2, 2026 — the only channel the notification accepts; hand, courier or email applications are not entertained.
- Create your profile and select the exact post matching your qualification. A wrong selection wastes your fee.
- Fill in personal, educational and domicile details exactly as they appear on your CNIC and certificates.
- Pay the Rs. 2,000 processing fee online, then save or screenshot the confirmation and application number as proof.
- Watch the official ICT Police site for your roll number slip and test date.
- Appear for the written test with original documents.
- If you qualify, attend the interview with the full document checklist, plus the minority-quota affidavit if it applies.
For a broader reference, our general guide to applying for government jobs in Pakistan covers steps that repeat across departments.
Common Mistakes That Get Applications Rejected
- Sending documents by post, courier or email: only the online application at npftas.pk counts.
- Applying for the wrong post: a Matric holder applying for Sub Inspector, or a graduate assuming Constable needs a degree too — both waste the fee.
- Skipping the physical self-check: discovering at the test ground that you fall short, instead of measuring yourself honestly first.
- Missing the minority-quota affidavit: the DCO countersignature can’t be arranged overnight once the interview is called.
- Not keeping proof of payment: your saved confirmation protects you if the portal shows no record of your submission.
What Happens After You Apply
| Stage | What the Notification Says |
|---|---|
| Advertisement published | 19 August 2026 (Daily Express) |
| Application window | Opens with the advertisement, closes September 2, 2026 |
| Written test date | Not specified — announced via roll number slip |
| Interview date | Not specified — scheduled after the written test for qualifiers |
This is the general shape most ICT Police drives follow, but the notification promises no fixed dates beyond September 2. Keep checking the official site rather than assuming a test week.
What the Pay Scale Means for Your Pay
Pakistan’s government pay structure runs from BS-1 to BS-22; the number shows seniority, not the exact rupee amount. Constable (BS-07) sits well below Sub Inspector (BS-14), itself senior to ASI (BS-11).
The listing gives two figures: Rs. 50,000–80,000 as an offered range, and separately Rs. 49,740–68,500 as a starting salary plus fringe benefits. Read the gap as basic pay versus a fuller package. A typical BPS package can include house rent and duty allowances, medical cover, and a pension benefit — but the exact mix depends on ICT Police’s own rules, not stated here.
Career Path: Where This Job Can Lead
In most Pakistani police services, a Constable can work up through Head Constable and departmental promotion exams toward ASI and Sub Inspector, rather than staying at entry rank permanently. Someone joining directly at ASI or SI has a normal ladder above them too, through Inspector and beyond.
None of this is promised in the notification — promotion speed depends on vacancies and departmental exams at the time — but it matters if you’re weighing Constable now against waiting for a direct ASI or SI announcement. You can also browse other Islamabad-based government job postings to compare entry points.
About This Guide and Avoiding Scams
ZoxJob.pk compiles and explains publicly advertised government job notifications like this one. The official advertisement and the npftas.pk / islamabadpolice.gov.pk portals are the final authority on every date, fee and eligibility rule. ZoxJob.pk charges no fee, collects no applications, and guarantees no selection for any candidate.
A word on scams: the only fee for this recruitment is the Rs. 2,000 processing fee paid through the official online channel named above. No agent or “reference” can secure a post in Islamabad Police — anyone asking for money outside the official portal has nothing to do with this recruitment. The same advertisement also appears on Islamabad Police’s own notice board as a cross-check.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the last date to apply for Islamabad Police Jobs 2026?
September 2, 2026, through npftas.pk only. The notification does not mention any grace period after this date.
How many total vacancies are in this ICT Police recruitment?
1,624 total, across Sub Inspector, ASI and Constable combined. The per-post split isn’t stated; independent reports estimate roughly 60 SI, 24 ASI and 1,540 Constable seats — confirm on the official portal.
What is the age limit for ICT Police jobs?
18 to 25 years, with no relaxation mentioned in the notification. Check the detailed advertisement if your age sits close to either limit.
What is the application fee for Islamabad Police Jobs 2026?
Rs. 2,000, paid online through npftas.pk at the time of application. No other fee or payment channel appears in the notification.
Can candidates from outside Islamabad apply for ICT Police jobs?
Yes. Domicile holders from Punjab, ICT, Sindh, KPK, Balochistan, AJK and Gilgit-Baltistan/FATA are all welcome, against the regional quota the federal government sets.
What is the salary for these ICT Police posts?
The listing gives Rs. 50,000–80,000 as an offered range, and separately Rs. 49,740–68,500 as a starting salary plus fringe benefits. Treat the lower figure as base pay and the higher as an estimate including allowances.
Is there a physical test for Islamabad Police Jobs 2026?
Yes: minimum height (5 ft 7 in men, 5 ft 2 in women), a chest measurement for men, and a 1-mile run in 7 minutes (men) or 10 minutes (women).
Official Source and Where to Apply
This notification was first reported in the Daily Express newspaper and posted online on August 19, 2026. Apply online at npftas.pk, and cross-check the advertisement on the official Islamabad Capital Territory Police website before paying any fee.
Last updated: August 14, 2026.